Bidding only health law firms? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
notactuallyposting

New

Bidding only health law firms?

Post by notactuallyposting » Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:51 pm

Hello, looking for advice about bidding.

I am a student at Boalt, estimated debt at repayment ~30k (scholarships). Long term I am PI/gov focused in health policy, and really the only reason I am in law school is for specific health related matters. That being said, some mentors have told me it may make sense to get some training in health law through a big firm first if possible. Checked online and there are a few health law firms in the area (relatively small), and a bunch of big firms with health law practice groups. Is it possible to just bid and interview with only those firms? For practice groups is it possible to be interested in / bid only the health section? If I don't get one of those firms, with my debt load so low I can pursue PI avenues in the region, but am not sure if participating in OCI would be made public and hurt me in PI? Also, for my plan to work, would I need to have like tippy top grades?

Also- any general tips/experience out there on approaching only a niche area in OCI?

Thanks

Nat Sherman

New

Re: Bidding only health law firms?

Post by Nat Sherman » Thu Nov 06, 2014 7:07 pm

Grades should be your most important priority right now. No matter what, just focus on grades. OCI is a long ways off and will be almost dependent on grades.