thinking of leaving biglaw after 3 months Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
metalz666

New

thinking of leaving biglaw after 3 months

Post by metalz666 » Sat Oct 18, 2014 9:24 pm

My law firm is not exactly Biglaw, we only have around 30 associates in my city, but it sure acts like one. Ive been a student associate for almost 2 years there, learned some know how and it was bearable, as a student i just took off at 6pm and went home. Now, as a junior associate, im there for 1.5 months and i already cant take it anymore ! Ive been working 17 hour days, never less than 12 hrs and more and more work keeps coming. Im under a lot of pressure, stress and i often get critiqued for asking 'basic' stuff or making mistakes. I also get yelled at sometimes, so im really scared of any work i get, cause i know if i f up, ill be yelled at by some associates.

I was a really healthy individual, but no matter how hard i try i cant get to my gym, cause it closes before i even get out ! I cant take it anymore, 1.5 month is nothing, i know, but i feel im losing grip of my life and i havent been happy ever since i started cause i have no life at all...anyone experiemced something similar so early in their careers ? Should our careers and be serving our private lives, instead of taking over them ?

mvp99

Silver

Re: thinking of leaving biglaw after 3 months

Post by mvp99 » Sat Oct 18, 2014 9:56 pm

Are you sure this isn't a really busy time for the term i.e. the situation is only temporary?

run26.2

Silver