Breaking into Madison Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Breaking into Madison

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Sep 11, 2014 6:06 pm

Hi all: I'm a 1L at a T17, and I'm curious about eventually breaking into Madison's legal market.

I graduated from UW for undergrad and left Wisconsin a few years ago, and I've kind made it a plan to get back to Madison when possible (I could not attend UW Law for personal reasons).

I'll be graduating with very little debt and I have pretty flexible career aspirations at this point; in particular, I know I could be pretty happy as a small firm litigator or with working in a state/local government lit or regulatory role.

With that in mind, would anyone have any long term tips for positioning myself to get a job there in the next half decade or so?

A few particulars: Would working there 1L summer raise eyebrows in OCI for firms in other cities, compared to the benefit of networking there? (I do have family in Wisco, if that's a valid excuse). Is lateraling from biglaw going to be more fruitful than trying to get a job outright? If so, would transferring to a Midwest T14 better position me? If I remain at my current school and get a biglaw offer post 2L, would spending my 3L as a visiting student at UW to intern/network be advisable?

Appreciate any tips

Anonymous User

Re: Breaking into Madison

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:25 pm