Patent lit to VC? How?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
auds1008

New

Patent lit to VC? How?

Postby auds1008 » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:20 am

I've been working in patent litigation for almost 2 years and I have seen/worked on almost everything in patent litigation (definitely not saying I'm good at it), including the lifestyle it offers. I am seriously interested in VC/startup work (not necessarily legal) and am actively trying to be part of the community. Eventually, I would love to switch over if possible, even if it means working on projects unrelated to law. For those that are already in/considering VC/startup, what advice can you give me, besides starting my own startup?

I talked to a person who's made a name in the Palo Alto area and s/he told me the best thing to do is to drop out of law school (at the time I was still in law school), work for someone in the Bay Area for free. S/he also said that s/he doesn't mention he's an attorney anymore because it harms more than helps first impression. Is this generally true?

swampman

Bronze

Re: Patent lit to VC? How?

Postby swampman » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:55 am

Can't speak to how to make that transition, but I do have a few friends in that world and can speak a little to the second question. They generally see the lawyers they work with as overly conservative, holding up deals just to cover their own asses and regularly shutting down great ideas. Conversely, they see themselves more as risk-taking, disrupting innovators. Basically polar opposite cultures.