Salary Question Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
ChiCube21

New

Salary Question

Post by ChiCube21 » Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:04 am

hi everybody,

long time lurker; first time poster! love the site.

so, i graduated law school last year and since then, i have been working a fellowship that i got after my third year (it's not the greatest paying job, but i realize how lucky i am in this market). unfortunately, the fellowship ends in august and i've been looking for a job for a while now, trying to line something up for when this ends.

so, i think i may have found a really good lead -- i've been on two interviews with this firm in recent weeks. late in the day today, the partner that i interviewed with the second time emailed me and asked about salary. i'm not really sure what kind of salary to ask for. but in his email he asked what i am currently making and what i would hope to make at his firm here are the details:

i graduated from a less than stellar school in chicago slightly above median. i have been working in the area for the past year. the firm is a 15 attorney firm and while they have other "practice areas," it's mainly a collections mill -- from what i can tell from the two interviews and google searches, they primarily do collections on behalf of banks -- like small business loans, credit cards and student loans. there is also a small amount of insurance defense, as well, i think.