AA Male - 3.37 at GULC - OCI Help Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

AA Male - 3.37 at GULC - OCI Help

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Jun 29, 2014 3:45 pm

This might out me, but I figure the advice I receive and the help to future posters outweigh the downsides of starting this thread.

So I am AA male, 3.37 at GULC (between median and 40%), I have a biochemistry degree, and I have ties to the bay area and to LA. Reading through TLS threads, it seems the conventional wisdom for a non-URM with my stats is to go New York heavy and target the other markets through mass mailing.

I was thinking of playing it safe and bidding mostly NY firms at which my GPA is competitive. Is there a better approach? Where should I bid the IP firms? Should I target bay area or LA firms? How far "above my station" should I bid?

I am interested in regulatory law, which is why I would prefer to stay in DC. But I have no issues with doing litigation in New York.

dead head

Bronze

Re: AA Male - 3.37 at GULC - OCI Help

Post by dead head » Sun Jun 29, 2014 11:05 pm