Beginning Clerkship this Fall--When to Apply to Firms? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Beginning Clerkship this Fall--When to Apply to Firms?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:17 am

I'm beginning a clerkship this fall in a flyover district with a U.S. Bankruptcy Court judge. I graduated summa cum laude from a law school that is very close to being ranked in the top 50 schools, so nothing too special there. I was on the law review e-board, however, and my student note was published. I want to apply to large law firms (large, but not V100 law firms) in a larger city that is about 3 hours from the flyover district city where I'll be clerking. I'm not looking only to do bankruptcy law, either. I'm wondering when the best time would be to start applying to firms. My clerkship is only for a year so I'm not sure if I should apply before I begin or if I should wait until after I start in late August. Should I be waiting until closer to next spring? I really have no idea, so any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

rpupkin

Platinum

Re: Beginning Clerkship this Fall--When to Apply to Firms?

Post by rpupkin » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:16 pm