USPTO or AUSA

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
NewlyLegal

New

USPTO or AUSA

Postby NewlyLegal » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:42 am

All, I have opportunities at the USPTO and at a US Attorney's Office as an AUSA. I have a few years of large firm experience and a family with a young child. Which would you choose, and why?

bulinus

Bronze

Re: USPTO or AUSA

Postby bulinus » Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:02 pm

What's the PTO job? Long-term goals?

Gold

Postby 84651846190 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:07 pm

How the hell did you get offers from both the USPTO and as an AUSA?

rpupkin

Platinum

Postby rpupkin » Mon Jun 02, 2014 6:30 pm

Biglaw_Associate_V20 wrote:How the hell did you get offers from both the USPTO and as an AUSA?

In theory, I can imagine someone with the qualifications to get offers from the Solicitor's Office of the PTO and from one of the two USAO divisions that deals with intellectual property. But I can't imagine why anyone with those qualifications would be seeking advice from the collective ignorance of TLS.

Gold

Postby 84651846190 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 7:20 pm

rpupkin wrote:
Biglaw_Associate_V20 wrote:How the hell did you get offers from both the USPTO and as an AUSA?

In theory, I can imagine someone with the qualifications to get offers from the Solicitor's Office of the PTO and from one of the two USAO divisions that deals with intellectual property. But I can't imagine why anyone with those qualifications would be seeking advice from the collective ignorance of TLS.