Working for IP firm with no background? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Working for IP firm with no background?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:39 am

Somehow got SA with smaller firm focusing on IP. I have no technical background - will this be a hindrance? The firm didn't ask for any undergraduate transcripts (and my resume makes it clear that I have no hard science experience). Just interested to see whether anyone had been put in an area they didn't know much about for the summer, and whether I'd learn on the job, or if I need to start prepping now.
It's not in my ideal market (or specialty), so I'm thinking about interviewing elsewhere after this summer, but I think it will be good experience.

patogordo

Gold

Re: Working for IP firm with no background?

Post by patogordo » Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:40 am

not really necessary for litigation

anonymuos

New

Post by anonymuos » Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:26 am