Switching jobs soon after starting (and growth potential) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Switching jobs soon after starting (and growth potential)

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:30 am

Hello everyone,

I am a May 2013 graduate who was very fortunate to find a job in January. It is a small firm in a rural area and I do a mix of civil litigation, family law, and even some criminal. It is heavy on the Workers Compensation and Personal Injury work, but there are also some small business disputes and other interesting cases that come through the door. The good things about the job are that the pay is a bit better than expected, the workload is not too bad, my co-workers seem nice, the work is fairly enjoyable, and I will be taking depositions of doctors (simple cases, but still) and handling mediations within a few weeks or months. I am engaging directly with opposing counsel, etc. The bad things are a long commute and a salary that still isn't very good.

There are a few midsize insurance and Workers' Compensation defense firms in the bigger city where I live that have openings every so often for either general civil litigation, but mostly insurance defense, work, as well as Workers' Compensation defense. They pay 20-30k more than I am making right now, which is significant since I have a family to support. One of these firms just had a position open up, in fact.