Will looking young hurt my job prospects? Solutions?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
tmkm

Will looking young hurt my job prospects? Solutions?

Postby tmkm » Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:27 pm

Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this question so please feel free to move the topic accordingly...

I'm a 26 year old Asian American male. I've been working in a corporate setting for about 3 years now and have experienced situations where my youthful appearance has affected the way employers and clients have initially viewed me. I'm 5'11 and have a pretty lean build. I don't grow much facial hair either. I've been frequently mistaken for being someone in his late teens to early twenties and feel like this will continue to be the case until I hit middle age...

I know that especially with client interface, one's appearance is extremely important. If you as a representative look too young, then the client by default ends up seeing you as a less credible source...

That being said, does this already disadvantage me come OCI? Also, has anyone personally gone through this type of situation before?

Any tips? Advice?

Thank you.

jn7

Re: Will looking young hurt my job prospects? Solutions?

Postby jn7 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:33 pm

Sorry for not really contributing or helping you with this problem, but realistically is there anything you can really do? Stop sleeping and develop eye bags and wrinkles?

You look how you look just run with it!

Emma.

Postby Emma. » Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:35 pm