1L Summer job question- what to say in interviews

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

1L Summer job question- what to say in interviews

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:49 am

I'm going for biglaw but for 1L summer, I'm looking for a PI job.

I'm unsure how to approach the interview. I have no PI background. Do employers know that you're only there for the summer and going to leave after using them for experience? Is it okay to acknowledge that? What exactly do they look for in answers?

banjo

Re: 1L Summer job question- what to say in interviews

Postby banjo » Thu Feb 06, 2014 1:14 am

For PI interviews, I just said I wanted to explore a career in X and do lots of legal research and writing. They know that it's just a summer job, and are happy to have the free labor.

transferror

Postby transferror » Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:28 am

Anonymous User wrote:I'm going for biglaw but for 1L summer, I'm looking for a PI job.

This statement doesn't make much sense. Biglaw doesn't want PI experience. Not that your 1L job matters much, but I'd be careful about throwing too much PI on a resume before waltzing into OCI looking to be at a firm. Go work for a judge and sharpen your writing skills.

BVest

Postby BVest » Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:39 am