JD --> Big4 Consulting

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

JD --> Big4 Consulting

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:43 pm

Hi all:

I'm a recent grad, currently working at a midsize firm. I'm not sure if I really enjoy the practice of law/want to be a lawyer long-term however. I have an UG business degree and am considering taking a look at Big4 consulting positions (not audit). Does anyone have any experience with that area or thoughts on this transition? Thanks!

Anonymous User

Re: JD --> Big4 Consulting

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:56 pm

deloitte consulting is more credited than being unemployed. but they will pay you a small amount of money to to a significant amount of boring work.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:58 pm

OP here: can you expand a little bit on why the work is boring? Honestly, I'm in lit, and the neverending stream of motion writing, discovery responses, etc. isn't exactly thrilling either.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:11 pm

I used to work big4 audit. I saw enough of consulting to get a general idea of what they are about. Consulting will most likely be a significant cut in pay for a small reduction in annual hours, and periods of the same hours as biglaw. Like many other big4 practices, they are deal and deadline driven and require significant amounts of travel (sometimes including long-term relocation if the deal is large enough).