Dual Degree 2L at T14 Bombed Fall Semester

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Dual Degree 2L at T14 Bombed Fall Semester

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Jan 26, 2014 8:24 pm

Hello,

I am anonymous because it would be fairly easy to out me based on my past post history here and the fact that I am a dual degree student at a CCNP (MBA). I am currently a 2L at at a non HYS T14 and I just bombed my fall semester due to a now resolved medical condition. I had a solid B+ GPA 1L year (B+s and Bs sprinked with A-s) and now it has dropped to a 3.2 (B-, B, B, A- were my fall grades). The median 1L GPA at my school is around 3.3 or slightly below and for 2L I believe it is slightly higher. Here is my situation. During interviews this past summer I did not have much luck getting a biglaw position because of my dual degree status. Most firms wanted me to interview next year so that I could do the summer associate thing right before I graduated instead of having a gap year (or so they said). I am pretty committed to becoming a lawyer despite my MBA so:

1.) Will these big law firms evaluate my based on my 1L grades like the other 1Ls or will they evaluate me based on my 1L and 2L grades?
2.) I did manage to get a boutique summer associate position that pays fairly well. Am I screwed out of getting an offer here based on my slide?

Thank you everyone.

bdubs

Re: Dual Degree 2L at T14 Bombed Fall Semester

Postby bdubs » Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:04 pm