Unsure about practice area- what do I tell employers?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Unsure about practice area- what do I tell employers?

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:58 pm

I have a science degree. I'm not entirely sure if i want to do patent prosecution or corporate work.

Is it ok for me to say that I'm 100% set on IP to IP firms but also tell non-IP firms that I'm 100% set on corporate? That way, I can make a decision after I get an offer?

Also, I'm leaning slightly more towards corporate. However, whenever I tell people (professors, career services, firms) that I want to do corporate, I'm met with the same reaction that shows they aren't convinced (being asked multiple times "wait, are you sure you don't want to do patent law?" even after talking about how I want to do corporate work the entire time). How do I prevent this?

DildaMan

Re: Unsure about practice area- what do I tell employers?

Postby DildaMan » Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:12 am

Anonymous User wrote:I have a science degree. I'm not entirely sure if i want to do patent prosecution or corporate work.
Is it ok for me to say that I'm 100% set on IP to IP firms but also tell non-IP firms that I'm 100% set on corporate? That way, I can make a decision after I get an offer?

Yes.