How will my lack of work exp. affect getting 2L SA Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
TFALAWL

Bronze

How will my lack of work exp. affect getting 2L SA

Post by TFALAWL » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:08 pm

I am a 1L at a T-10. I have no work experience, k-JD, however I will be doing a judicial internship with a state appeals judge in California. While I have yet to receive my grades, if I end up hitting median (where I hear that softs become very important) how much will my lack of w/e hurt me? Will my judicial internship help make up for that? Should I volunteer for a Pro-Bono club or other school organizations to try and pad my softs a bit?
Thanks!

patogordo

Gold

Re: How will my lack of work exp. affect getting 2L SA

Post by patogordo » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:09 pm

you have literally no work experience? nothing from HS or UG that you could spin in an interview?

TFALAWL

Bronze

Post by TFALAWL » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:10 pm

patogordo wrote:you have literally no work experience? nothing from HS or UG that you could spin in an interview?
A tiny bit. I was a summer intern during my HS summers chasing coffee at my dad's office in order to earn money for my car. That's it.

Platinum

Post by 2014 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:13 pm