Transactional Drafting class to prepare for SA? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
punkyg0608

Bronze

Transactional Drafting class to prepare for SA?

Post by punkyg0608 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:52 pm

I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I've already loaded up on credits this semester, but I just got off the waitlist for a transactional drafting class. I have a 2L SA this summer, and my thought was that I have plenty of experience with litigation assignments (memos, complaints, briefs) but zero transactional experience. I would hate to be assigned some transactional project this summer and have no idea how to handle it. But this class is offered every year, so I only want to take it now if it will help me this summer. Do you think it's worth cramming it into my schedule? Any thoughts would be appreciated!

p1arnold

New

Re: Transactional Drafting class to prepare for SA?

Post by p1arnold » Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:19 pm

I doubt you will need it, because attorneys generally treat summer associate assignments with the assumption that you know nothing. That said, if you know nothing about transactional law and take this class, I am sure you'll feel more comfortable if assigned anything dealing with a contract of any kind.

LSATNightmares

Silver

Post by LSATNightmares » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:13 pm

I loved my contract drafting course. Learned some stuff that made me a slightly better sumer.

Old Gregg

Platinum

Post by Old Gregg » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:38 pm