going from clerkship to finance Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

going from clerkship to finance

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:27 pm

I graduated from a TTT, but was summa and got a job clerking on the district court level in one of the bigger, more competitive districts (think, NDCA, CDCA, SDNY, EDNY, NDIL, DDC, etc.). I've worked for about 6 months at a nonprofit criminal legal aid place. While my experiences have been interesting and I've learned a lot, I've come to realize that I'd rather not spend the rest of my life doing litigation, either criminal or civil.

I'm interested in going into finance, preferable at a private equity hedge fund or at one of the bigger NYC shops or banks (Goldman, JP Morgan, Morgan Stanely, etc.). I'm still relatively young (27), but unfortunately I don't have a finance background at all: I went to undergrad at a decent but small liberal arts school and was a history major. I know some people get hired as analysts right out of undergrad with a wide variety of liberal arts majors, but truth be told I don't know much about what to expect from the world of hiring in finance and I'm just wondering whether given my current background I stand any chance at all of getting looked at? If so, for what kinds of jobs and places should I be looking for?

Anonymous User

Re: going from clerkship to finance

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:10 pm