Prisoner's Dilemma

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Prisoner's Dilemma

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:40 pm

I need some advice:

I graduated last year top 10% from a TTTT. I have no debt, no spouse and no kids.

I currently have a good commercial litigation job and make 90k a year. However, I am extremely unhappy because I hate the small redneck town where I currently live and work.

I am licensed in CA and am taking WA this Feb.

I want to move to Seattle but my TTTT will do nothing for me there and from what I hear, the market is absolute shit. I used to live in Seattle and have decent connections but nothing solid employment-wise at the moment.

I really am not happy living in my current town and the urge to GTFO is eating away at my sanity.

Part of me is saying: take the risk, I well in LS, I consider myself tenacious (no debt in LS), I was able to find a good a job despite the TTTT and shit market, and I have no student loan debt - what is there to lose?

On the other hand I realize that it's incredibly stupid to walk away from 90k a year for extreme uncertainty and a terrible job market.

Opinions?

mushybrain

Re: Prisoner's Dilemma

Postby mushybrain » Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:41 pm

I sure as hell wouldn't do it. It seems like a 90k/year job is what you have to lose.

mr. wednesday

Postby mr. wednesday » Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:43 pm

Why can't you apply for jobs in Seattle while continuing to work at your current job?

gdane

Postby gdane » Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:52 pm