JD/Non-Lawyer Taking Questions About Non-Legal Jobs

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

JD/Non-Lawyer Taking Questions About Non-Legal Jobs

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:04 pm

I'm guessing this doesn't come up here too much so I thought I would start a thread. Per the title, I have a JD (graduated a few years ago) but do not practice law. I work in the non-profit/government sector.

champ33

Re: JD/Non-Lawyer Taking Questions About Non-Legal Jobs

Postby champ33 » Sun Jan 05, 2014 4:14 pm

Did you go right into your field from law school or did you practice first?

Did you take the bar?

Is your pre-law school background directly tied to your field?

How did you break into it? Was it difficult?

What other kinds of fields did you look into other than practicing law and what fields would you recommend? Yours?

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:06 pm

champ33 wrote:Did you go right into your field from law school or did you practice first?

I did quasi-legal work for about 6 months after graduation. I never practiced law.

Did you take the bar?

Yes. I took the bar in a very tough state right after graduation. I wasn't prepared (no Bar/Bri), so I failed. To this day I have not gotten a license to practice. In my current career, it isn't necessary and would probably be viewed as negative when trying to switch jobs, so it's not something I plan to pursue.

Is your pre-law school background directly tied to your field?