1L Judicial Internship Question Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
karina

New

1L Judicial Internship Question

Post by karina » Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:04 pm

I'm a 1L student who's looking to apply for judicial internship for next year. I'm interested in working in NY after graduation, so I'm looking to apply to NY courts only. I have a few of questions:

1. What is the difference between working for a federal magistrate judge and working for a district judge?

2. Would law firms ever look down upon working for a state court (NY Supreme Court), as opposed to working for federal courts like SDNY or EDNY?

3. How many applications should I send in? I heard from a few 2Ls and 3Ls at my school that they typically send in 60-70.

Thanks a lot!

ph14

Gold

Re: 1L Judicial Internship Question

Post by ph14 » Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:08 pm

karina wrote:I'm a 1L student who's looking to apply for judicial internship for next year. I'm interested in working in NY after graduation, so I'm looking to apply to NY courts only. I have a few of questions:

1. What is the difference between working for a federal magistrate judge and working for a district judge?

2. Would law firms ever look down upon working for a state court (NY Supreme Court), as opposed to working for federal courts like SDNY or EDNY?

3. How many applications should I send in? I heard from a few 2Ls and 3Ls at my school that they typically send in 60-70.

Thanks a lot!
1. Probably nothing from a legal internship perspective, really.