Thank yous after an awkward interview?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Thank yous after an awkward interview?

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Nov 16, 2013 3:56 pm

I had a callback yesterday and it went well until I met the last interviewer. He is the managing partner and he is one of the "named" partners (the firm is named after him). He was a complete jerk. I have a lot of political experience and he spent 15 of our 20 minutes going off on how someone of my political persuasion is "incompetent" and "does not have the skills necessary" to be a successful lawyer and that I did not exercise "good judgment" in taking politically related jobs. He finally stopped when he asked me if I could prove that I could work with people on the other side of the political spectrum to which I responded "i am not the one insulting people on the other side of the spectrum." He laughed and said "good response" and asked if I had questions about the firm.

The recruiter asked me how it went and I gave an noncommittal answer to which she responded "yeah he is a jerk don't take it personally."

I know TLS has varying views on thank yous but I always write thank yous and feel bad not doing so. However, this interview was so awkward that I feel like I should just lay low and wait for the rejection letter and move on. I was thinking of writing to everyone but the managing partner but I feel that is inappropriate to single him out and *not* give him a thank you.