Struggling with dual degree program - what to do?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Struggling with dual degree program - what to do?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:39 pm

Background: I am a joint degree student (second year of law school) at a T14 (the other degree is a professional degree, think MPP/MPH/MBA/etc., which is relevant to my desired practice areas). I'm in the top quarter of my class and on LR and, to the extent that anyone actually likes law school, like it quite a bit. I really liked my summer legal internship and am intent on practicing law even with the joint degree. I don't want to go into research or another type of career.

I participated in OCI and got an SA offer at a firm in a secondary market. I'm really happy with the firm I chose and would love a permanent offer there. I am much less happy with the other degree in my joint degree program. The subject matter is much less interesting than I thought it would be, seems increasingly irrelevant to my future legal career, and a couple pretty bad grades in some of the more math and statistics focused classes are starting to sink my GPA. I know I want to work at a law firm and practice law, and at this point I would be happy to drop out and just do the law degree.