Biglaw to... personal injury?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Biglaw to... personal injury?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:15 pm

This will probably come across as strange, but here goes. How can one go from biglaw to personal injury?

I graduated from a T20 school and landed V50 biglaw in a secondary city. I'm in the litigation department and I just started. The thing is, I actually like plaintiffs' litigation. I worked part time at a small plaintiffs' firm during law school in another state and enjoyed the work. I enjoy the idea of actually being a trial lawyer, working directly with clients, and negotiating settlements.

But I've got loans, and passing up biglaw and the chance to pay off my loans was too hard to resist. I'm not really learning much about actual litigation here. Ideally, I'd like to make my way to a decent plaintiffs' personal injury firm in a few years, and then eventually go solo.

How difficult is it to make the jump from general lit in a V50 firm to a decent plaintiffs' firm? Does anyone know what the better PI firms pay in non-major markets?

pjo

Re: Biglaw to... personal injury?

Postby pjo » Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:40 pm