Slightly odd interview(?) coming up

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Slightly odd interview(?) coming up

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:16 am

OK so I am currently a judicial clerk in an "out of the way" circuit. I graduated in may from a T25 law school. Last year about this time, I saw an add on symplicity for a firm that looked really interesting to me because of particular work I had done before law school. They were looking for someone to start immediately, which I could not, but I sent off my packet anyway and predictably heard nothing.

So Monday I get an email from them that says if you are in our city, we would like to meet with you. This city is about 8 hours from where I am clerking. I took this as code for, hey we want to interview you but we're not paying for the trip. That's cool, I'm still desperately seeking permanent employment so I'm not gonna be too demanding. So I say, why yes I was planning a trip to your city, but I haven't picked a date yet; let me know a monday or friday in the next couple months that would be good for the firm.