What happens?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

What happens?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Oct 01, 2013 2:55 pm

So what happens to people who do shitlaw or doc review straight of of law school in terms of career prospects? Are they forever precluded from obtaining a lucrative position? I'm in the oci strike out boat. I am a transfer student at UT/UCLA/Vandy. I was top 5.5% at the third tier school I started at. I feel like I am pretty good at the whole law thing (albeit I dont think anyone knows until they actually start practice). I really don't want to drop out because I don't know what the hell else I will do with a political science degree, but I am not sure I want to practice law for 40k a year. It seems like there are less stressful ways to make that kind of money. My only motivation to do well this semester is a hope of getting a decent clerkship (my school has a good reputation for clerkships). If I do not do well this semester I might just cut my losses. People recommend that alot to others on this forum, but in reality its a hard thing to do when you have invested so much of yourself into this rat race.
Sorry for the blabbering, but seriously, what are the career prospects of one who does not land biglaw or mid law straight out of law school?

Scotusnerd

Re: What happens?

Postby Scotusnerd » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:13 pm

If not a troll, get off your whiney ass and start looking for jobs. Grow up and hustle.