Patent Attorney in Biomechanics and Bioelectronics Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
VMeyer4

New

Patent Attorney in Biomechanics and Bioelectronics

Post by VMeyer4 » Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:15 am

Hi,

I am a fourth year undergraduate student in Bioengineering (5 year program, as co-op is mandatory). Much of my recent research says that if I want to obtain a position as a biotech patent attorney, I should obtain an advanced degree in Biomedical Engineering, Biotechnology, etc. However, I am looking to work in biomechanics and bioelectronics. According to a patent attorney I recently spoke with, those two areas fall more into the realm of mechanical and electrical, so an advanced degree would not be necessary. What are your thoughts on this?

ipguy

New

Re: Patent Attorney in Biomechanics and Bioelectronics

Post by ipguy » Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:03 pm

RIT?

The comment about wanting to work in biomechanics and bioelectronics makes very little sense to me. Do you mean medical devices?

Bio-anything is going to require a graduate degree, and preferably a PhD if you want big law. It will also help to at least have *some* work experience (>2 years, not research at school, not co-op). K-JD isn't very desirable in IP IME.