1L SA- No Offer, No Luck with OCI

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

1L SA- No Offer, No Luck with OCI

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:06 am

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping to get some advice/thoughts on what I should do.

So, I managed to get a 1L SA last year with a large law firm. I go to a T20. My GPA after fall was a 3.5~. For my spring semester, even though I studied just as hard, my GPA took a slight dip to a 3.4.

I did not make law review.

At the end of my 1L SA, I was not given a return offer.

I did manage to get a few OCI screening interviews. And, I've been told I interview well. And, my career counselor is convinced that I'll be able to secure a mid-size SA job.

I guess you could say I'm in an odd emotional stream right now. I went into OCI thinking that I could at least get 1-2 callbacks. But that is not reality.

My mass-mailing has yet to turn up any results.

I am getting pretty anxious, and I cannot seem to focus on school. Hell, I haven't even gone out with friends. All I'm doing now is mass mailing mid-size firms, and hoping a mid-size firm decides to take a chance on me.

I guess you can say I naively thought that my SA experience would at least make me competitive with some of my classmates who had better GPAs. God, I feel stupid.

Anonymous User

Re: 1L SA- No Offer, No Luck with OCI

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Sep 21, 2013 1:18 pm

OP: That sucks...sorry to hear it. You're not out of options though!