K&L Gates v. Knobbe

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

K&L Gates v. Knobbe

K&L Gates (Chicago)
77%
Knobbe Martens (Orange County)
23%

Total votes: 13

Anonymous User

K&L Gates v. Knobbe

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:16 pm

I have offers for both K&L Gates (Chicago) and Knobbe Martens (Orange County). My background is EE/CS. Currently, I am undecided between prosecution, litigation, and IP transaction and would like to try all early in the career. If someone has first-hand knowledge, could you please provide some insights on job security, exit options, and hours/pay about the two firms? Thank you very much.

truevines

Re: K&L Gates v. Knobbe

Postby truevines » Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:35 pm

You should figure out the billing systems of the two firms, and ask about the real working hours at Knobbe. Then, you can decide whether the life style at Knobbe is worth the below-market pay.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:25 pm

truevines wrote:You should figure out the billing systems of the two firms, and ask about the real working hours at Knobbe. Then, you can decide whether the life style at Knobbe is worth the below-market pay.

OP here. I understand that Knobbe system is hours BILLED not billable hours. So I guess it depends a lot on which partners/clients that I work for (please correct me if I was wrong). In the meantime, I appreciate any comments on exit options and future career developments regarding these two firms.

Anonymous User