SA Position Involving a Career Jump

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

SA Position Involving a Career Jump

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:48 am

I am a non-traditional law student. I currently work at a large public research institution in a STEM field and have been working on my JD at a Tier 2 school at night. I enjoy my co-workers, make a respectable salary (I won't ever be RICH, but I will live very comfortably), and have the most amazing benefits I could ask for: matching 401K, 4-day work weeks (compressed schedule), never work past 5PM, 20 vacation days, 13 sick days, 10 holidays, work from home option, pension. Sometimes, though, I feel like the work I do is either boring or menial.

I've been going to school basically for free due to several scholarships. I only applied to one firm that practices exclusively in the practice area I am interested in for an SA spot and got the job. I am located on the edge of a large market. The firm has a 100% offer rate and matches pay of most Biglaw firms in the market we border. Now I am second guessing making the career jump that I originally planned. Primarily, I'm worried about the work/life balance (or lack thereof). Just for reference, the firm has an 1800-2000 billable hour requirement.