How to approach salary negotiations

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How to approach salary negotiations

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Sep 07, 2013 1:52 am

I'm a 2012 grad and after passing the bar came on as an associate at the plaintiff firm that I clerked with while in law school and as a post-bar. I recently started looking and applying to other jobs in the same practice area hoping to find something that pays better and bigger than the small office I work in now. My first interview today went well (was very long) and ended with an offer. The offer, however, was for only slightly more than what I'm already being paid. The firm is larger and more well-known than the firm I'm currently with, at least on the West coast. Does anyone know what average salary for an approx 20 attorney plaintiff firm is? I feel like I need to counter but have absolutely no clue what is market rate for this kind of firm and how to go about it. Any suggestions?

Anonymous User

Re: How to approach salary negotiations

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:08 am

http://www.nalpdirectory.com

Searching for CA firms with fewer than 25 employees comes up with 4 results ranging from 90k to 160k entry level salary. I didn't see a practice area that specified plaintiff side so this might not be that relevant, but probably a place to start.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Sep 07, 2013 10:40 am