Soliciting feedback

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Paul Campos

Soliciting feedback

Postby Paul Campos » Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:40 pm

Got an email this morning. Redacted version:

I'm writing to ask for your help and guidance -- I am a second-year law student at [Midwestern state flagship] Before enrolling at [ ], I attended [mid-ranked Midwestern university] where I was fortunate to earn my undergraduate degree in journalism with no student debt.

Now, after just one year in [ ], I have racked up approximately $52,000 and worst of all, despite studying hard both semesters, my GPA is an embarrassing [near bottom of class]. Even since I was in high school, I wanted to become a lawyer, but now I'm having some second thoughts. OCIs started this week, and due to my lackluster 1L performance, I have not been able to land a single interview with a firm. I love criminal law and hope to land a job as a prosecutor, but I also recognize that the market for government lawyers is very tight -- recently, [county in which the school is located] laid off a ton of state prosecutors to go back to 1988 staffing levels.

Given what I have just described, what advice would you give me? Should I cut my losses or stick it out? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I recognize that I am in a unique position to not have any debt for undergrad, and to be frank, I really enjoy learning the course material and living in [ ], but I fear that my investment in attaining a J.D. is fool's gold.