Getting an apartment in a big city (no past job or lot of $)

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Getting an apartment in a big city (no past job or lot of $)

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:53 pm

Greetings, I am a recent law school grad. I'm going to be moving to a big city (e.g., LA/NYC/DC) this fall and am planning to move into an apartment. Back when I was a little undergrad, I had to have my mommy and daddy guarantee my lease agreement when I got an apartment. I don't have any parents to do that for me anymore, and I was wondering what all your experiences were like when getting a new apartment by yourself after law school?

I do have a job lined up in this big city, but I have never worked before (anything beyond internships and waiting tables); I use and pay off my credit card, but not too much; and I only have around $9000 in my bank account right now (I hear it's customary for the landlord to ask for your bank account number); but I will have a stream of income coming in in the future (not big law income, though).

As you can see, I'm quite green and am a young buck K-JDer. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Void

Re: Getting an apartment in a big city (no past job or lot of $)

Postby Void » Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:34 am