Being/Looking Young -- Detrimental to Interviews?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
walnuto

Being/Looking Young -- Detrimental to Interviews?

Postby walnuto » Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:17 pm

Has anyone had this experience? I am a younger law student, and I'm wondering if partners tend to screen out younger-looking candidates since it looks less professional in front of clients.

acrossthelake

Re: Being/Looking Young -- Detrimental to Interviews?

Postby acrossthelake » Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:22 pm

I look rather young. Just the other day somebody asked me if I was going to be starting college this fall! This didn't hurt me in interviews.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:27 pm

I'm 21 and just went through OCI. I also look even younger than my age (carded at movie theaters, asked what grade I'm in during haircuts). My performance has been consistent with my grades and work experience (none).

Void

Postby Void » Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:33 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I'm 21 and just went through OCI.

Dear god, what the fuck are you doing at OCI? Return to undergrad and get drunk immediately. You're wasting the best years of your life.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:35 pm

I just went on a callback last week where the interviewer kept telling me I was 12 (I'm 22). I don't know how that went over, but I should find out in a week or so.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:46 pm

Void wrote: