2 strikes, 1 to go (help!) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

2 strikes, 1 to go (help!)

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:30 am

I'm a transfer student at a T10 (coming from a t1 with better than top 5% grades) and I've been getting radio silence thus far through OCI. I've done about 2/3 of my interviews and I'm hoping I can salvage something, which is why I'm posting.

I'm not socially awkward or aspie. I think my biggest problem is lack of ties. I'm from a small city and hated it there. I want to be in a big city, whether that be New York, Chicago, or the Bay. I bid all three. Firms really seem to be focusing on the why our city question and, though I've been to each of these cities and have some family in Chicago and the Bay, my answer about wanting to live and work in a large city and loving theirs doesn't seem to cut it. I don't know what else to say, though, as that's the true answer. Sorry I wasn't born there, but I didn't have a choice...

Maybe my questions at the end of the interview suck? I usually ask about what traits they think enabled them to succeed in the firm, and what they look for in summers and junior associates. I ask about what they like most about their firm, and what keeps them coming back every day. I ask about their fondest memory at the firm, and what, if anything, they would do differently if they were back in my shoes today. Do theses questions suck and are they tanking me?