Leaving a Firm to Clerk (And possibly returning?) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Leaving a Firm to Clerk (And possibly returning?)

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:09 pm

I'm a recent grad starting at a secondary market biglaw firm this fall. I applied for clerkships but missed the clerkship boat. I would still like to clerk someday, and I know CSO and a lot of former clerks say "Well even though you missed the boat now, you can always try to clerk again once you're a few years out." However, I like the firm I'm heading to, and while I'm not so naive as to think I'll being working here the rest of my career or something, I do see a future at this place and want to establish myself as a litigator there.

How do most firms view leaving to clerk for a year, and are most cool with holding a spot for you to come back? Would it be less likely to work out at a secondary market firm? Is this something that would be worth doing, or is it something that could hurt me long-term (e.g., partnership prospects)? I know so much of this is dependent on the firm, the individual, etc., but I'm looking for some general insight and anecdotes if you've got any.

For reference, I'm in my mid-20s (K-JDer), graduated top 15% from a T20, am going to be in the general litigation department, and would be looking to clerk for the state SCT or a district court. My firm's office is in the state capitol and the biggest city in the state, so I would likely stay in the same city for a clerkship.