JD/CPA combo with a twist

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
catman

JD/CPA combo with a twist

Postby catman » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:06 pm

I know from previous research on this forum that this question gets thrown around a lot, however, I believe my situation is a little different.

I am a recent graduate with dual degrees in Finance and Accounting. My GPA is 3.72 and I recently was offered an internal audit position within a top 30 LAW FIRM. I will be required to get my CPA designation as a normal part of my job expectations and will be working with nearly every department in the firm.

I had abandoned my law dreams a few years ago after reading about a saturated market and limited opportunities, but under these circumstances, do you think it would make sense to go back to law school for a jd/cpa combo? I have always had a passion for law, and I would love to practice some sort of financial services regulation. (I've interned at the Fed and numerous other banks)

My timeline would be internal audit for 3-4 years, and then back to school. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Anonymous User

Re: JD/CPA combo with a twist

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:43 pm

El Dangeroso

Postby El Dangeroso » Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:16 pm