New associate wanting London

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

New associate wanting London

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:27 pm

Hoping to see if anyone might have insight on this.

I'm a grad from a T14, with good GPA, summer'd with a well-known firm, and have a mix of courses. I'll be starting as an associate in a few months and am psyched about the firm.

However, I'm also pretty committed to the idea of trying to get to London. From what I understand, the majority of the work for J.D.'s in London will be transactional roles for companies wanting to access US equity markets. The problem, here, is that I won't be doing that sort of work at my firm, so I don't feel comfortable, if I really want to pursue this, putting it off and hoping I can retool my skill-set a few years in. Also, the firm does not have a London office. So, what seems more reasonable to me is attempting to make this happen ASAP.

First off, I assume that this is going to be very difficult and if anything were to work out, it'd include considerable luck.

Second, I'm not even sure how to go about this. Do I contact legal recruiters? Do I directly apply to firms with offices in London with American attorneys to apply? Would my school's career services office be even worth attempting to access (the only thing I can imagine is that they may have alumni in London they could put me in contact with to network).

Anonymous User

Re: New associate wanting London

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:00 pm