Corporate or litigation for lateraling/career prospects Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Corporate or litigation for lateraling/career prospects

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:31 pm

I'm starting soon in biglaw in NY and have the opportunity to choose between corporate work and litigation. The firm has a solid reputation for both, though is perhaps more well known for the corporate work. I'm a good legal writer, but I absolutely hate the process of legal research. I did some corporate work over the summer, and I got by fine. It didn't exactly thrill me either. But many of my peers in corporate have business or finance backgrounds, which could put me at somewhat of a disadvantage as time wears on.

I highly doubt I'm going to stay at my firm for more than 3-4 years, but I'd like to keep my options as open as possible when I start looking for exit options. I'm not an ardent lover of the law and don't see myself being in law in 20 years. And I really don't care if I do corporate or litigation. But while I'm in law, I'd like to have as many options as I possibly can.

Thoughts?

AllDangle

Bronze

Re: Corporate or litigation for lateraling/career prospects

Post by AllDangle » Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:19 pm

Interested in this also

rad lulz

Platinum

Post by rad lulz » Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:21 pm

Well what do you want to lateral/exit to

Bronte

Gold

Post by Bronte » Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:23 pm