Trouble securing NY Apartment on income alone

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Trouble securing NY Apartment on income alone

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:01 pm

I'm a recent grad who is going to be starting at a big law firm in NYC paying 160k and I'm having a significantly hard time finding an apartment in the city ahead of my start date in late Sept.

I've looked at a few places and applied at 2 places and have been rejected at both. The places I'm looking at are roughly 2750-3k/month in rent and I qualify for income since I make 40x monthly rent, but the rental places don't like the fact that I don't have much in my bank account (~5k). Furthermore, I can't get a guarantor as I don't know anyone who makes 80-120x monthly rent and willing to sign for me.

The rental places are willing to rent only if I can come up with 6 months rent up front. My credit score isn't necessarily the problem either. I'm high 600's which is maybe slightly above average, though not necessarily very good.

Any suggestions? I'm also out like $500 in NY apartment application fees so I'm hoping to resolve this quickly.

Re: Trouble securing NY Apartment on income alone

Postby 09042014 » Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:19 pm

I'd ask for the money back if they are just going to deny you for bullshit, tickey tac reasons.

timbs4339

Postby timbs4339 » Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:25 pm

Desert Fox wrote:I'd ask for the money back if they are just going to deny you for bullshit, tickey tac reasons.