Looking for Advice

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Looking for Advice

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:50 pm

I graduated with a 3.55/honors/top 10% from a TTT in CA. I eventually want to return to WA.

I externed for a state judge my 1L summer and worked for an in house ID firm 25 hours a week from 2L spring - graduation. I have a "get your license and you are hired" offer from the ID firm from but nothing in writing.

I have substantial mock trial experience (I have done 5 trials total and I have right chaired 3 real trials at my old job) and I earned a specialization certificate in litigation in law school. I was also a member of the secondary journal (waste of time IMO).

I only have 25k in debt (I had a full ride and was paid well at the ID firm). So money is not really an issue, although I want to bring in some respectable money in a few years.

ID sucks but I know I can put my time in, get my experience, pay off that 25k and the go off to some boutique firm.

I am also very interested in working internationally. I love to travel and have lived abroad several times but I have absolutely no idea how to get a job abroad except via biglaw (which is obviously out of the question).

Am I being greedy by wanting more than ID? Or do I have a shot at getting a different job either in WA or abroad. There is also the possibility of working for the Seattle office of the insurance company but that means after I take CA next month, I start preparing for WA in feb.

anon168