Job Fair Bidlist as Transfer - How?!

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Job Fair Bidlist as Transfer - How?!

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:27 pm

The rule seems to be: be honest with yourself and bid accordingly (not top of the class, bid lower but not too low). How does this work if I'm a transfer student coming from a TT to T14? For a job fair bidlist if it says top 15% of the class, will the employers look at my TT top 15% and say, "Uhh...no"? Should I even bother with any of the V10? Or just stick to the V50ish firms? Somewhere in between? Somewhere lower? Help!

Anonymous User

Re: Job Fair Bidlist as Transfer - How?!

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:41 pm

Ideally, you include a solid mix of matches, safeties, and a few reaches. Work experience matters a TON at OCI, and I can't stress this enough. I was a T25 transfer to a CCN, and came in ranked top 10% at old school. Me and most of my transfer friends were getting offers from very solid firms, many in the V15-V30 range. But it was the kids with excellent work experience that got Sullivan & Cromwell, Davis Polk, etc. As a transfer, of course you are at a slight handicap, but work experience really makes up for it. Of course, thats not to say that the rest of us transfers didn't make out well.