Below median at T30, out of market

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Below median at T30, out of market

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:57 pm

Just looking for some general advice.

Finished below median at a T30 in the Northeast (but above a 3.1). I'm from a state in the Upper South (i.e. not AL/MS) and returned there after graduating last month, currently studying for that state's bar. Although I have an out-of-market degree, I went to the best-ranked school in my state for undergrad, so I do have some real connections here.

No real honors in law school, but I've had some interesting (and I think valuable) experiences at a really prestigious public interest place, in-house in a niche area of law, and some litigation...this is all through summer work and clinics.

I'm wondering what I should be doing to maximize my yield on the job search. I'd basically take anything that pays 50K+ (I have close to 150K in loans and I feel taking a job at 35K or so is just not feasible for me). Currently I've applied to some non-JD or JD preferred postings I seem qualified for (still waiting to hear back), but is there some strategic approach I should be taking with law firms? Do my grades and my school keep me out of mid-sized firms of 20-30 attorneys in my home market, or is it worth at least sending a resume, etc? Also, are there any federal government agencies who might be willing to take me on without journal and standout grades?