Just graduated, unemployed, clueless on fellowships

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Just graduated, unemployed, clueless on fellowships

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:09 am

I'm a recent graduate from a CLS and I'm in pretty sad shape right now. I struggled through a combination of depression and anxiety that just left me feeling defeated through my 2L and 3L years. While graduation has been a great relief and getting out of that environment has been helpful, there's still the small matter of a quarter-million dollar debt load combined with the same fundamental career ambitions that brought me to law school three years ago. CLS offers a $30k fellowship for 1-year to recent graduates who will work in unpaid government positions and that's what I'm pursuing now.

Unfortunately between finishing my graduation requirements and moving out of NYC, I've only recently turned my attention back to my career. At this point it feels like a government fellowship is the most realistic chance to revive my career ambitions and an adviser pinpointed the NY AG's office as my best prospect. He also reminded me that I could pick any qualified government position, but that they haven't had as much experience taking on fellows with CLS and my experiences may vary with those institutions.