How to shake off little mistakes in an internship?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How to shake off little mistakes in an internship?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri May 31, 2013 12:41 pm

I'm an intern. In between 1L and 2L. One week in. I can't stop second guessing myself. Any advice on how to control my nerves better?

Anonymous User

Re: How to shake off little mistakes in an internship?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri May 31, 2013 12:46 pm

Xanax

Nammertat

Postby Nammertat » Fri May 31, 2013 2:24 pm

Honestly, you just need to change your attitude about it. I have tried to take every mistake as a learning opportunity. When a partner takes the time to rip apart my memo, I get excited at the opportunity to get better at this. (also shows that they actually care about training you) Grow some thick skin and learn to love criticism, because this type of career is full of it!

lolwat

Postby lolwat » Fri May 31, 2013 2:26 pm

Just be confident about your work.

Ask as many questions as you can without being annoying, do your best, submit the end product, and deal with it when you get it back from your supervisor/partner/whatever.

Lateral2013

Postby Lateral2013 » Fri May 31, 2013 2:30 pm

It's totally normal to be nervous and on edge, it will get better as the summer goes along, but I'm sure you feel like your whole life is riding on this summer (which is not the case).

Focus on the positives, that will help your confidence. You have a job as a 1L, so you obviously impressed somebody.