Must decide by 4:30

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Must decide by 4:30

Postby Anonymous User » Wed May 15, 2013 2:21 pm

I am in a bit of a bind.

I am a T20 grad currently clerking in my home and preferred state.

I have received an offer with the federal gov for a job that sounds awesome-it is not a lawyer position but definitely involves legal work-I could see myself being very happy with it. The people are nice, my security clearance is coming along, and the work seems interesting and I would be proud of the position.

Making the choice difficult is that I would have to leave my preferred state- and my husband behind to take the job. I am not sure I want to only see him on the weekends. He just got into an MBA program at the University he works for and will be able to attend at a large discount. Further, he has already had to move several times for my law school and career-so we both agree its best for him to stay put at least for two years or so.

I don't have any solid leads on jobs in my home market-my understanding is being barred here will make the difference.
I am barred in a neighboring state - but missed passing here by a few points the first time and have been waiting to retake the exam (its only offered once a year).