Question re: relocation to California

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Question re: relocation to California

Postby Anonymous User » Wed May 08, 2013 6:15 pm

Hi all,

I'm needing to bounce some ideas on you all about on a potential career move. I hope this is in the right forum. Here's the skinny: I graduated from a regional private law school located in the south in 2012. The school is ABA accredited, but unranked. It is recognized as a real good school in my area. In a class of ~190, I made top 10%, LR, scholarship (no debt), four amjur awards, etc. After graduating, I moved back to my hometown (a town of approximately 10,000 people) to practice law because there is enough business to support a good living as a sole practitioner.

The shitty part is that where I live now is not my first (or second, third,...) choice to live. This area is populated with primarily older people (boomer generation) and families; it is very rural, sparsely populated, and generally poor except for the professionals and big land owners/farmers. The food generally sucks. There's no people here to date in my age group (i.e. age 20-29). There's no social activity here, and to top it off I live in a super-religious dry county (I don't do religion, and there is no sale of alcohol here). On the plus side, this area is geographically a very pretty area.