3L OCI Question

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

3L OCI Question

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:46 pm

I asked this in another thread, but didn't get a ton of responses so I'm going to try again in this new thread. I am a transfer student from a t4 school to lower ranked t14. I am top 1% at new school, on secondary journal, with board position, and a publication (not a note, its a much shorter article on something specific going on in the law). I struck out at OCI as a 2L. I will be working at a PD office this summer.

My question: if I maintain my GPA (or close to it) in the spring semester, do I have much of a shot at 3L OCI (I am including mass mailing in this)?

Should I be happy with any close to market-paying firm that wants to hire me or do I have a shot at some of the better known firms which would, in general, probably give me more future options?

How do I answer why I worked at a PD office this summer instead of a firm? Do I say I struck out and this was my next best option or try to spin it like I was really interested in getting courtroom experience and liked crim law, but after the summer internship I realized it wasn't for me and now I want biglaw?

I don't really have any preference for litigation versus corporate (maybe a little for corporate). However, as I understand it, law firms that do hire 3L's are usually hiring for specific practice areas. How do I figure out which areas they are hiring for and sell my interest in that area?