How to get Big Law as a 3L? -- Advice needed

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
bb8900

How to get Big Law as a 3L? -- Advice needed

Postby bb8900 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:55 am

Hi,

I am a 2L at a average regional law school. I ended my first semester in the top 15%, but have been dropping since and am now at around the top 1/3. During my 1L summer I was an intern at a very large corporation. Now as a 2L, I clerk for mid-sized firm.

Ultimately my goal is still get big law. I realize that it won't happen my 2L summer, but I am hoping to be one of the few who ends up getting an offer or clerk position or something with big law as a 3L. Given this goal, what would be the best strategy for me this summer (my 2L summer)?

1. Continue to work at the mid-sized firm, thus getting more experience at a well known local mid-sized firm?

OR

2. Work at a second large corporation?

Basically, which of the two following would look more impressive to big law:

Scenario 1: Scenario 2:
1L summer : intern at large corporation intern at large corporation
2L spring: clerk at mid-sized clerk at mid-sized
2L summer: intern at different large corp clerk at mid-sized
3L fall: clerk at mid-sized clerk at mid-sized

Do big law firms like continuity at well known mid-sized law firm OR would they be impressed by being able to work at two very well known corporations with some mid-sized law firm?

Thanks

Anonymous User

Re: How to get Big Law as a 3L? -- Advice needed

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:51 am

bb8900 wrote:Hi,