Securities Concentration But No Finance Background?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Securities Concentration But No Finance Background?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:51 pm

Is this possible? I have zero background in finance. Just an interest in tackling banking crime. My school offers a concentration on securities law as well as several tax law classes. I also have a lot of other public service experience including a bit of consumer protection experience. Would this be enough to be seriously considered for employment at a place like the SEC?

IAFG

Re: Securities Concentration But No Finance Background?

Postby IAFG » Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:54 pm

The SEC would rather you lateral from a large law firm. Getting hired there as an entry level is pretty difficult, even for someone with a better background.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:09 pm

IAFG wrote:The SEC would rather you lateral from a large law firm. Getting hired there as an entry level is pretty difficult, even for someone with a better background.

OP here

Hm, well firm work isn't something I'm very interested in. This article questions interns at the SEC and one of the questions was "For the interns who used to work in finance, do you miss anything about that world?" So, it seems like some people get in w/o finance...or that could just be a badly worded question/indicative of only a handful of people.

http://dealbook.nytimes.com/2011/07/29/for-s-e-c-interns-wall-street-is-a-world-away/